A guide on how players can save the game and avoid losing any progress in Octopath Traveler: Champions of the Continent.
Single-player RPGs are known for providing players with hours of content as they progress through an intriguing narrative. Sometimes, though, players can get so involved in the story that they forget a very crucial gameplay mechanic and can potentially lose hours of progress. There is nothing worse than the feeling of defeating a difficult boss only for players to realize that they forgot to save after turning the game off.
It is an even worse feeling when players get wiped out by a boss but forgot to save and lose potentially hours of progress. This guide will show Octopath Traveler: Champions of the Continent players how they can save their progress and lose nothing.
How to Save in Octopath Traveler: Champions of the Continent
Thankfully, Square Enix is very much aware of this issue, so Octopath Traveler: Champions of the Continent won’t have to worry about losing progress. This is because the game takes care of everything for players. That’s right, Octopath Traveler: Champions of the Continent has an auto-save feature. It certainly makes sense that there would be an auto-save in this game, considering that it does have a Gacha element that encourages players to spend real money. Imagine the hot water Square Enix would be in if players spent money for Rubies only to lose it because they didn’t save. So, aside from being convenient for the player, that is why this game relies on an auto-save feature.
When Does Auto-Save Kick In?
When playing Octopath Traveler: Champions of the Continent, players may be wondering how often the game will auto-save. Luckily, the auto-save feature is very enthusiastic and will activate when the player does basically anything in Octopath Traveler: Champions of the Continent. From doing simple things like opening and closing a menu to players adjusting their party. Obviously, the game will also save every time the player makes a purchase with real money or uses the Guidance of the Sacred Flame to pick up another Traveler for their party.
Is There an Indicator When Auto-Save Happens?
There is a way for players to tell when auto-save happens in Octopath Traveler: Champions of the Continent. Players should pay close attention to the upper left-hand corner of their screen. Whenever they do anything that triggers auto-save (other messages like “Connecting…” will also appear here as well), players will see a small spinning wheel made up of a series of lines and a message that says “Auto-saving…”. When that little message disappears, that means that auto-save has been completed and that it is now safe for players to close the game without worrying about losing any progress. Seeing this message will certainly be a relief for players who have experienced RPGs that didn’t have an auto-save feature.
Octopath Traveler: Champions of the Continent is available now on Android and iOS devices.
MORE: Octopath Traveler: Champions of the Continent – How to Heal